top of page

Worship in your Weakness


“Why?” I thought to myself other day as I inched my achy body off the couch to pick up the pizza supper mess coughing all the way. Why do I feel like I have to get these dishes to the sink? I have pneumonia, and I’ve got the chills, and for some reason, I feel like I have to clean up. Like I’ve got to prove I’m tough enough to be sick and do the mommy duties too!

Have you ever felt that way? Just weak, maybe exhausted, maybe sick but for some reason, you think “I can be tougher than this. Watch me, some body, I can be tired and clean the whole house and feed the kids supper and give them baths. Look at me! Ha! I can do it!” Where does that come from? And what does it really prove? I’m not sure, but I know it’s not what God asks us to do. He never said, “Get up exhausted momma, I know you were up all night, but go clean out that dishwasher. Yep, now you’re valuable, I love you so much more now that I know you’re really tough.” No, instead he told us to “boast in our weaknesses.” But it’s hard to be weak, isn’t it? It feels as though we’ve failed.

But let me suggest something to you: you are not God; you are human; little ones to Him belong, you are weak and he is strong. Stop working through your weakness; and don’t you whine in that weakness. Stop a moment, like I did, hunched over in my blanket with greasy napkins, and worship in your weakness, asking for his strength.

How much more will your kids learn when they see you lift up your hands and admit your strength comes from the Lord, that you know he will provide what you need, that he sees us in our weakness and loves us just the same.

And after worshiping in my weakness that night in the kitchen, God provided a loving husband who offered to give baths and let me rest.

Thank you Lord for my servant husband in that moment, and thank you for sending your servant Son to be strength in my weaknesses. Amen.

But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me. That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong.

2 Corinthians 12:9-11

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Pinterest App Icon
bottom of page