top of page

"I Want Milk!"


“Mommy, I want milk for breakfast.”

“Okay, I’ll cook your eggs first.”

“I want milk please.”

“Ok, love, it’s coming.” Thirty seconds later…

“Where’s my milk?!”

“Child!” I want to yell, “I will take care of you; I love you! Please be patient!”

This conversation occurs often in our house. Replace milk with snack, baby doll, books, anything really, and repeat. Doesn’t she know? I have taken care of her every single need for two and a half years now. I have never failed to make her breakfast, kiss her boo boos, retrieve her colors, wipe her face, wipe her stinky tooshy for goodness sakes. I will always take care of her because I love her. How can she not know that, and how can she not see that her incessant, impatient asking is going to drive me crazy?!

In that moment, the one two seconds after my inner thoughts screamed, “Child, I WILL TAKE CARE OF YOU!” I stopped. It blows my mind the way God works sometimes. Instead of my irritated voice saying those words, I heard them again, differently. This time they hugged my heart, sent straight from my Heavenly Father himself, “Child, I will take care of you. While I ask you to pray unceasingly, I also ask for your patience and trust. Trust in my timing and my good will. Trust that as you look back you will know that I never failed to hold you tight, to fill you with peace, to guide you, all in my perfect timing. Trust me now, and remember to be patient, because, child, I WILL take care of you.”

“Thank you, Lord, for speaking through little moments each day. Thank you for being faithful and taking care of me each day. Help me to have patience to wait on your timing, and patience to speak kindly when my precious chil​​d has asked me five times already. ”

“Be joyful in hope, patient in affliction, faithful in prayer.” Romans 12:12

“Give your burdens to the LORD, and he will take care of you. He will not permit the godly to be shaken.” Psalm 55:2


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Pinterest App Icon
bottom of page